DEPARTMENT ORDER DO 2003-07-008

AMENDMENT OF DO 2002-12- 021 TO CONVERT PANAY POWER TASK FORCE TO A UNIFIED POWER TASK FORCE

WHEREAS, the Department Order 2002-12-021 created the Panay Power Task, Force (PPTF) for the purpose of ensuring smooth implementation and monitoring of the power demand and supply situation in Panay area to address the impending power supply shortfall.

WHEREAS, Rule 3 Section Ic of the Implementing Rules and Regulations (IRR) of RA 9136 states that the DOE is responsible in preparing and updating annually a Power Development Program which shall consider and integrate the individual or joint development plans of the transmission, generation and distribution sectors.

WHEREAS, Rule 3 Section le,iii of the IRR of RA 9136, the DOE in consultation with other government agencies, promote a system of incentives to encourage electric power industry participants, including new generation companies and end-users, to provide adequate and reliable electric supply,

WHEREAS, there is a need to ensure consistency and prioritisation in the implementation of power projects to meet projected capacity and infrastructure requirement.

NOW, THEREFORE, the PPTF shall be renamed the Unified Power Task Force (UPTF) which shall be responsible in ensuring the consistency of the various activities in the preparation and consolidation of the different Power Development Plans and facilitation of implementation of projects consistent with EPIRA.

Task Force Membership. The UPTF shall be composed of DOE, NPC, TRANSCO, PSALM, NEA and NPC-SPUG:

Usec. Cyril C. del Callar - Department of Energy
Asec. Lasse A. Holopainen - Department of Energy
Dir. Chrysanthus S. Heruela - Department of Energy

Dir. Julinette M. Bayking - National Electrification Administration

VP Froilan A. Tampinco - Power Sector Assets and Liabilities Management Corp.

VP Venusto D. Hamoy - National Transmission Corp.

SVP Pio J. Benavidez - National Power Corp.

VP Lorenzo S. Marcelo - NPC-SPUG

Responsibilities of the Task Force. The UPTF shall serve as the Oversight Committee and shall be responsible in ensuring that the following activities are being undertaken by the Technical Working Groups (TWGs):

- 1. Ensure consistency *of* the activities in the preparation and consolidation *of* the Power Development Plans in various Islands in the country
- 2. Facilitate implementation of projects consistent with EPIRA
- 3. Develop strategy and workplan that will ensure that additional capacities and necessary infrastructures are implemented on time
- 4. Conduct information campaign, assess stakeholders response and address power-related concerns
- 5. Coordinate and facilitate identification of power facilities siting
- 6. Conduct regular weekly meetings.

The UPTF could seek the support of concerned government agencies and the Local Government Units in the performance of its tasks.

The TWGs shall be led by a member of the UPTF and members are representatives of the UPTF member agencies (Attachment 1).

Technical and Secretariat Support. The Technical and Secretariat support shall be provided by the DOE, TRANSCO, NPC and NEA.

Appropriation. The DOE and member agencies shall appropriate funding resources and staff, as necessary to effect this Department Order.

This supersedes other Department Orders creating Task Forces and Technical Working Groups pertaining to the preparation of the Power Development Plan.

This Department Order shall take effect immediately.

Fort Bonifacio, Taguig, Metro Manila, 30 June 2003.

(Sgd.) **VICENTE S. PÉREZ, JR.** Secretary

TECHNICAL WORKING GROUPS

A. LUZON, VISAYAS & MINDANAO POWER DEVELOPMENT

Chairperson : Julinette Bayking

Members : Irma Exconde, DOE, TRANSCO-Luzon

Jules Alcantara, TRANSCO-Visayas, TRANSCO-Mindanao, PSALM

Danny Sedilla, NPC

Tomas Vivero, NEA

Secretariat : Thelma B. Ejercito, DOE

B. SMALL ISLANDS POWER DEVELOPMENT

Chairperson : Lorenzo Marcelo

Members : Nelia Irorita, NEA

Rafael Abergas, NPC-SPUG

Victor.F.rancisco, Jr., NPC, PSALM

Secretariat : Ronald V. Siquioco

C. COMMUNICATION PLAN

Media : Ma. Carmina Cruz

Events : Evangeline Moises

DSM/Energy Efficiency : Jesus Anunciacion

Consumer Awareness : Helen Arias

Emergency Response Center : Alex Deocares

Secretariat : Manolo Labor